(而且一定要擊中播放按鈕一定的氛圍!)

所有關於阿瑟柯南道爾,以及對康伯巴奇和Freeman,我想我終於找到了一種方法來刺激我的博客恢復正常。

當然世界上沒有結束的時候,我開始消極怠工。 但是,它可能會遇到的尊嚴瞬間流逝,現在我想重新開始。

女士們,先生們請允許我向您介紹221A,221B和221C的Ba(R)KER街的居民

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

我哈克的損失後,立即感到新的狗有點道貌岸然張貼。

但問題是,不幸的是,缺乏對博客我的一部分,而不是窮人的意圖之一,更多的之一。 我試圖使它成為一個點張貼更多的,但如果像以前一樣,我覺得靈感,在世界憤怒在某些情況下,否則驅動加入我的聲音到氾濫的人高呼反對世界的消遣,這幾天我發現自己更經常地搖我的頭,厭惡和走開。

無論如何一個更愉快的話題。

截至昨日,福爾摩斯,華生和瑪麗來到安敦。 這是很難說誰是更興奮我們或幼崽。 訓練已經開始,但不認真。 我需要獲得3籠為那些我們最初採購的是不會有足夠的反正。 這就是說,我們都非常高興能有地毯鼠

我要開始與一對夫婦的帽子提示。 第一個大的喊出來就到了巴克斯特縣阿肯色動物的控制 ,其採用過程不僅無痛而且熱心。 唯一的缺點,以他們的操作是它是一個“殺避難所”,但我也明白為什麼他們不覺得他們有開始只是INST有資金的選擇。 他們依靠像我這樣的人誰想要一個寵物,誰是不是在尋找一些與系譜90英里長。

我們希望有一個家庭成員,而不是一個文件記錄,員工有興奮之餘,以協助我們。 我不能說足夠這些人誰,我通過電話和電子郵件採訪了幾乎在每一天的基礎。

接下來所有的生物獸醫院的Mountain Home,阿肯色州。 他們不僅絕育和絕育的新增加的我們的家,他們對待他們的蠕蟲,犬瘟熱,狂犬病和跳蚤。 他們並沒有打破銀行在做它的。 對於有人誰願意收養動物的巴克斯特和所有的生物已成立的過程不僅是合理的醫療之神坦言發送作為你的寵物有該死的靠近你走出門,無需花費你發財之前,你需要的一切。

你的鄉親真棒。

最後醫生在謝爾曼橡樹觀動物診所 謝爾曼博士已通過損失和我們同去的厄運。 現在,她將度過人生的好運氣能與我們合作。 我們喜歡她和她的工作人員,他們在醫療領域,是成本可以很快成為高昂的不同付款方式的事實是超越有益的,事實上,她是超越主管坦言是一個額外的好處。

很高興有安敦充滿尖牙的聲音了。

標籤:

2002年1月。

我馬上要和我的妻子從水牛城,紐約州開車去阿沃卡,AR希望得到對生活的新租約。

我還沒有出過陸軍和長串的運氣不好,和煩惱跟著我喚醒。 我需要改變之前,我改變了對我行駛的路徑。

我的媽媽和她的丈夫剛剛閉幕的房子,並搬出一個地方,他們被租用,單寬拖車。 這是不是很多,但房東同意租賃轉讓給我們。

同時清潔準備我們的到來,使他們能夠移動的地方,我的母親已經打了漢堡王吃午飯,並吃了她的車。 就在這時,她聽到一個聲音嗚嗚驅動她的窗外,轉身找她門外羅威納小狗。

於是開始了我們的旅程。

哈克,該Uberdog

哈克,該Uberdog

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

我只是我的婚禮前寫了這個。 2004年6月12日在我們的姊妹網站Techography.com 我重新發布在這裡既為後人,因為這個週末是我和妻子八週年。 現在回想起來,我可以看到我寫的一個明顯的區別。 我也可以看到自己的不同。 不過那又是另一個時間。 請記住這是寫在幾年前這樣的措辭是適當的。 我沒有張貼那個週末。 我不會發布這一個。 有些事情是值得慶賀的私人。 -BS

我,大約2004年作出了我最好的朋友我們的婚禮在一個(和最好的芒)的妻子。

歷史告訴我們,是1865年6月23日是最後同盟將軍交出命令的日期。

我“只怕它只是並非如此。

真正的日期是2004年6月12日。

那我投降的日期(我“馬前18格魯吉亞步兵重新enactor)我的自由,以一個北方出生的個體,前聯盟重新enactor為紐約州西部的第155愛爾蘭。

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

如果你錯過不知何故, 一期就設在這裡

所以,一旦房間基本已經到位,是時候認真起來。

首先,我們不得不採取的沙發,壁爐,我的雪茄盒,燈走出了房間。

然後使用一些左側額從投入在地板上,傳來了有趣的部分。 好玩在這裡被用在總挖苦。

閱讀本條目»休息

這個故事原本是我們的姊妹網站我寫的Techography.com 2006年6月5日。有這麼多我的工作,原來的文章不再檔案那裡。 我這裡在2010年五月再版它,我把它帶回來大約每年六月為紀念在D日入侵和那些人之前都沒有了。 這是一年的時間了,把它帶回了頭版。 要記住的時間。 總是,Remember.-BS

我們支持海軍火了我們....不說我們的槍聲肯定不可能越過海灘......“上校SB梅森參謀長,第1師

我曾經說過我擁有那畫的圖片。 (你也可以做到 ,但該礦有更多的歷史,因為我得到了我從現已解散的海軍航空軍械學校出來大洋洲,弗吉尼亞州)收到了來自我的父親,美國海軍退伍軍人,在7歲。它掛在牆上的我院自那以後,在我的臥室是一個小伙子。 我從來不知道,十年後,我會得到啟發,寫出有關的單位,該泳灘,那一天。 也許他做到了。

水。 我的父親和叔叔告訴我說,在海上的船變成一個島嶼,水變得無所不包。

它圍繞著登陸艇,想起那真叫你

“水到處都是水,並且沒有一滴喝......”

風是冷的,噴霧更是苦不堪言。 衣服都濕透了,通過和登陸艇是投手和偏航就像在一個暴風雨的風箏。 男孩從過山車嘔吐會影響海洋和海浪砸罐子那你的牙齒從你的腦子。

這個地方,是諾曼底的海灘是福克斯綠色。

歡迎來到入侵

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

所以國內的6和我決定建立一個家庭圖書館。 它被一些愛的勞動。

我們是老式的種種,我想做一個維多利亞時代/蒸汽朋克的感覺更多的東西。

我們通過一些老福爾摩斯電影的色彩和大量的歷史的維多利亞庫拜谷歌圖片的啟發。

為了好玩,因為我還沒有在昆斯年齡在博客什麼我想我會後我們有一些我們如何做的是做。

閱讀本條目»休息

每年自1962年以來,芝加哥河被染成綠色 ,慶祝聖帕特里克節。 如今,無論是染色和大閱兵發生在週六的17日前。 (明年,他們將重合時,第17屆適逢星期六)就這麼提示的帽子中的核心作用,愛爾蘭發揮在城市歷史上的一個獨特的芝加哥傳統。

每一年的幾個小時,該行的芝加哥河的地標性建築獲得一個水產前院那是充滿活力作為一個真正的芝加哥熱狗的霓虹燈綠色津津有味。

垂死的河

垂死的河

實際的染料是橙色的。 它變成綠色時,它的攪動入水。 這phenomenom的發現是由芝加哥的成員早在1962年管道裝配工會 ,而工會已染色河邊街帕特至今。

河的天然綠色可以看到在右邊,等待其轉變成hypergreen到左邊。

stpatdayafter

1962年,超過100磅染料被傾倒入河,留下它綠色的日子。 現在,只有40磅以下的分散,但由於河水被逆轉,以向後跑離西湖,甚至一天後,整條河的許多塊到西部仍然是一個單一的三葉草色球道。

daleyhancock

芝加哥的狂熱的聖帕特里克綠色是很普遍的。 以上是在戴利廣場的噴泉。

v00d3W

標籤:

我第一次發表這樣的Techography於2007年3月17日我轉貼在這裡為後人和你的閱讀快感- 。!學士學位

    我,帕特里克,一個罪人,一個最簡單的鄉下人,至少所有的忠實和最可鄙的很多,有對父親的執事Calpurnius的Potitus晚了,一個牧師,和解[維庫斯] Bannavem Taburniae的兒子; 他曾在附近,我被俘虜的小別墅。 我當時大約十六歲。 我沒有,真的,知道真正的上帝; 我被帶到囚禁在愛爾蘭有成千上萬的人,根據我們的沙漠,相當引誘離開神,我們並沒有遵守他的誡命,也不是我們服從我們的牧師誰用來提醒我們得救的我們。 而主對我們帶來了他的存在的憤怒和我們分散在多國中,甚至到了天涯海角,我在那裡,在我的渺小,我現在被外國人中找到。
    聖帕特里克, 該Confessio

誰是成為聖帕特里克,愛爾蘭的守護神的人,出生在威爾士約公元385。他的名字是Maewyn Succat,和他幾乎沒有得到愛爾蘭主教的工作,因為他缺乏必要的獎學金。

遠不是一個聖人,直到他16歲時,他認為自己是一個異教徒。 在那個年代,他是由一群愛爾蘭掠奪者的襲擊了他的村莊賣為奴隸。 在他的囚禁,他成為更接近上帝。

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

(BloodSpite注:我最初寫這個在2011年3月,我已經再版這裡這幾年愛爾蘭遺產慶祝我希望你喜歡。!)

我之前提到過,我的家人冰雹從阿馬郡。 然而,我的家人不與Ulsters對齊本身。 這是我們在1940年間的摩擦,有過我的祖父留下足夠愛爾蘭的原因之一南北,“我們都是愛爾蘭人,該死。”他會經常在他晚年罵他搖搖頭。

這篇文章不是關於政治的,但它更多的是,政治發生的地方。

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

這個故事首先被出版了自己在2007年3月3日在Techography 我在這裡再版了2010 - BloodSpite

在復活節後的星期一,中午,帕特里克皮爾斯和生病武裝和準備不足的詩人和愛國者浪漫樂隊後不久,上升了叛亂郵政總局的控制權

點擊大版

中央都柏林和城市周圍的其他幾個戰略要地。 愛爾蘭共和國宣告成立在都柏林,與叛亂三色突然爆發後,受驚的眼睛從上面非常心臟愛爾蘭首都的郵政總局的旗桿飛行。

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

我第一次寫這個早在2010年我轉貼了我們的愛爾蘭傳統月- BloodSpite

毫無疑問,這是我最青睞的愛爾蘭歌曲。 它不是真正的傳統,被寫在70年代末。

然而,背後的故事是作為令人痛心的歌詞。

更多後跳

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

(我第一次在此張貼於2007年3月10日Techography.com已重印這裡為後人和您的享受)

國足是歷史,憤怒,爭論,愛國主義和痛苦一個奇特的混合物。

阿爾斯特三月國足

它始建於同一縣是我自己的家庭預示著從... 阿瑪 這並不奇怪,我們在喬治亞州Ellijay落戶以後, 格魯吉亞蘋果之都 橙色命令是一個新教徒互助組織 主要是總部設在北愛爾蘭 和蘇格蘭小屋與整個英聯邦,加拿大和美國。

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

這一個是一個相當新的,因為它是只寫於2010年 。我們其他的三月故事,我們認為我們會再一次分享吧! - BS 2013更新:修正視頻

愛爾蘭的歷史更比在紙上空談。 像許多文明的過去,我們往往把我們的故事,我們的神話中的歌曲。

很多人聽說過愛爾蘭的歌曲,發現他們的反應從與眾不同的任何陣列,為了美觀,給上癮。 音樂不僅是為愛爾蘭的一種表現形式。 這是我們重溫過去的一種方式,它可能是少數媒體在其中的血液一直沒有陰影當中我們自己的一個。

神LUGH和Deichtine,銅Chulainn的兒子最初被命名為Setanta頻道。 他獲得了他的更加著名的名字,銅Chulainn,作為一個孩子後,他殺死了Culann激烈的護衛犬自衛,並表示願意取代其位置,直到更換可以飼養。

這是一個故事經常告訴我,作為一個年輕的小伙子

更多關於CU Chulainn後跳

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

設法讓我的手又不錯的SR-71的故事這個星期。

享受!

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

(我第一次寫2011的這個月,我這個月重新發布它為我們的愛爾蘭傳統慶祝活動享受- 。!BS)

有人說,我們愛爾蘭人是有福的“禮物布拉尼的”或言語的恩賜。 這就是為什麼我們作出這麼大的講故事,編劇,作家,詩人和演員。

布拉尼石,從下面

見著這樣的機智和幽默,因為這其中來自王爾德,葉芝等人的喜歡。 對於我們愛爾蘭,文字和語言是如此的很重要的...我的祖父曾經告訴我,如果一張圖片勝過一千字則需要1000字來畫一幅畫。

但機智的這個愛爾蘭禮物不出來的空氣稀薄,所以傳說講,而是從堅固的石頭!

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

大多數人知道我喜歡冷戰的故事在這裡的博客。

我已經寫了不少,他們坦言可能是最流行的作品在網站上。

我已經寫了幾個有關SR-71。 其實,寫是相當強烈的字眼。 我已經再版的故事,已寫入或告訴誰飛到這些可笑的強大的機器實際的人。 主要是因為我看到他們在網絡空間中浮動,但從來沒有找到一個很好的單個集合他們。 所以,我很享受這一過程。

我喜歡他們,因為我有一個孩子一樣的感情在那近乎痴迷的黑色金屬怪物。 我的第一個模型是一個黑鳥的實例。

所以,當我碰到這個故事有關SR-71,我忍不住把它添加到慢慢成長集合在這裡。

享受。

閱讀本條目»休息

標籤:

我第一次發表這樣的Techography於2007年3月17日,我在這裡重新發布它在2010年為子孫後代和你閱讀的樂趣! 我想這將是一個年度的事情,BS

      我,帕特里克,一個罪人,一個最簡單的鄉下人,至少所有的忠實和最可鄙的很多,有對父親的執事Calpurnius的Potitus晚了,一個牧師,和解[維庫斯] Bannavem Taburniae的兒子; 他曾在附近,我被俘虜的小別墅。 我當時大約十六歲。 我沒有,真的,知道真正的上帝; 我被帶到囚禁在愛爾蘭有成千上萬的人,根據我們的沙漠,相當引誘離開神,我們並沒有遵守他的誡命,也不是我們服從我們的牧師誰用來提醒我們得救的我們。 而主對我們帶來了他的存在的憤怒和我們分散在多國中,甚至到了天涯海角,我在那裡,在我的渺小,我現在被外國人中找到。


    聖帕特里克, 該Confessio


    誰是成為聖帕特里克,愛爾蘭的守護神的人,出生在威爾士約公元385。他的名字是Maewyn Succat,和他幾乎沒有得到愛爾蘭主教的工作,因為他缺乏必要的獎學金。

    遠不是一個聖人,直到他16歲時,他認為自己是一個異教徒。 在那個年代,他是由一群愛爾蘭掠奪者的襲擊了他的村莊賣為奴隸。 在他的囚禁,他成為更接近上帝。

    閱讀本條目»休息

    標籤:

January 2002.

My soon to be wife and I were driving from Buffalo, NY to Avoca, AR looking to get a new lease on life.

I hadn’t been out of the Army long and a string of bad luck, and troubles followed in my wake. I needed a change before I changed the path on which I was traveling.

My mom and her husband had just closed on a house, and were moving out of a place that they were renting, a single wide trailer. It wasn’t much but the landlord agreed to transfer the lease to us.

While cleaning the place preparing for our arrival so they could move, my mother had hit a Burger King for lunch and was eating it in her truck. It was then she heard a whining sound outside her drivers window and turned to find a Rottweiler puppy outside her door.

So began our journey.

Huck, The Uberdog

Huck, The Uberdog

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: ,

I wrote this just before my wedding. June 12, 2004 at our sister site of Techography.com. I’m republishing it here both for posterity, and because this weekend is my wife and I’s eight year anniversary. I look back now and I can see a visible difference in my writing. I can also see a difference in myself. That’s for another time, however. Bear in mind this was written several years ago so the phrasing is appropriate. I did not post that weekend. I will not be posting this one. Somethings are worth celebrating privately. -BS

Me, Circa 2004 taken by one of my best friend (and best mans) wife during our wedding.

 

History tells us that that June 23, 1865 was the date the last Confederate General Surrendered his command.

I”m afraid its just not so.

The real date is June 12, 2004.

Thats the date I surrender (I”m a former 18th Georgia Infantry Re-enactor) my freedom to a Northern born individual, a former Union Re-enactor for the 155th Irish of Western New York.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , ,

In case you missed somehow, Phase I is located here.

So once the room basics were in place it was time to get serious.

First we had to take the sofa, the fireplace, my humidor and the lamp out of the room.

Then using some left overs from putting in the floor, came the fun part. Fun being used here in total sarcasm.

Read the rest of this entry »

This story was originally written by me at our sister site Techography.com June 5th, 2006.  As so many of my work, the original article is no longer in the archives there. I republished it here in May of 2010.  I bring it back around every June as a remembrance to the D-Day Invasion and for those whom have gone before. It’s that time of year again, to bring it back to the front page. The time to Remember. Always, Remember.-BS

Our supporting Naval Fire got us in….without that gunfire we positively could not have crossed the beaches…” Col S. B. Mason Chief of Staff, 1st Division

I mentioned before I owned a picture of that painting. (You can too But mine has more history as I got mine from the now dissolved Navy Aviation Ordnance School out of Oceania, VA.) I received it from my father, a US Naval veteran, at age 7. It has hung on walls in my homes ever since, and in my bedroom as a lad. I never knew that years later I would be inspired to write about those units, that beach, that day. Maybe he did.

Water. My father and uncles told me once that at sea the ship becomes an island, and the water becomes all encompassing.

It surrounds the Landing craft, reminds you of that old poem

“Water water everywhere, and not a drop to drink…”

The wind is cold, the spray is miserable. The clothes are soaked through, and the landing craft is pitching and yawing like a kite in a windstorm. The boys vomit from the roller-coaster affects of the seas and smashing waves that jar your teeth out of your head.

The place, is Normandy, the beach is Fox Green.

Welcome to the Invasion

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So the Domestic 6 and I decided to build a home Library. Its been something of a labour of love.

We’re old fashioned sorts, and I wanted to do something more with a Victorian/Steampunk feel.

We were inspired by some of the old Sherlock Holmes movies with colours and a lot of pictures of old Victorian libraries thanks to Google.

For fun and since I haven’t blogged anything in a coons age I figured I’d post what we did with a few how we did it’s.

Read the rest of this entry »

Every year since 1962, the Chicago River has been dyed green to celebrate St. Patrick’s day. Nowadays, both the dyeing and a big parade take place the Saturday before the 17th. (Next year, they’ll coincide when the 17th falls on a Saturday.) It’s a uniquely Chicago tradition that tips its hat to the central role the Irish have played in the city’s history.

For a few hours every year, the architectural landmarks that line the Chicago River acquire an aquatic front yard that’s as vibrant as the neon green relish of a genuine Chicago hot dog.

Dying the river

Dying the river

 

The actual dye is orange. It turns green when it’s churned into the water. The discovery of this phenomenom was made by members of Chicago’s pipefitters union back in 1962, and the union has been dyeing the river for St. Pat’s ever since.

The natural green of the river can be seen to the right, awaiting its transformation into the hypergreen to the left.

stpatdayafter

 

1962, over 100 pounds of dye were dumped into the river, leaving it green for days. Now, only 40 pounds are dispersed, but because the river was reversed to run backwards away from the lake, even one day later, the entire river for many blocks to the west remains a single shamrock-colored fairway.

daleyhancock

Chicago’s mania for St. Patrick’s green is pervasive. Above is the fountain in Daley Plaza.

v00d3W

Tags: , , , , , ,

I first published this at Techography on March 17, 2007. I’ve reposted it here for posterity and your reading pleasure!- BS

    I, Patrick, a sinner, a most simple countryman, the least of all the faithful and most contemptible to many, had for father the deacon Calpurnius, son of the late Potitus, a priest, of the settlement [vicus] of Bannavem Taburniae; he had a small villa nearby where I was taken captive. I was at that time about sixteen years of age. I did not, indeed, know the true God; and I was taken into captivity in Ireland with many thousands of people, according to our deserts, for quite drawn away from God, we did not keep his precepts, nor were we obedient to our priests who used to remind us of our salvation. And the Lord brought down on us the fury of his being and scattered us among many nations, even to the ends of the earth, where I, in my smallness, am now to be found among foreigners.
    St. Patrick, The Confessio

The person who was to become St. Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland, was born in Wales about AD 385. His given name was Maewyn Succat, and he almost didn’t get the job of bishop of Ireland because he lacked the required scholarship.

Far from being a saint, until he was 16, he considered himself a pagan. At that age, he was sold into slavery by a group of Irish marauders that raided his village. During his captivity, he became closer to God.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

(BloodSpite’s Note: I originally wrote this in March of 2011. I’ve republished here for this years Irish Heritage celebration. I hope you enjoy!)

I’ve mentioned before that my family hails from County Armagh. However, my family does not align itself with the Ulsters. It’s one of the reasons we left Ireland in the 1940′s my grandfather having had enough of the frictions between the North and South, “We were all Irish, dammit.” he would often curse in his latter years with a shake of his head.

This post isn’t about politics however, it’s more about a place that politics happened.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This story was first published by myself on March 3rd 2007 at Techography. I republished it here in 2010. – BloodSpite

On Easter Monday, shortly after noon, Patrick Pearse and a band of ill armed and ill prepared poets and romantic patriots rose in rebellion took control of the General Post Office in

Click for large version

central Dublin and several other strategic sites around the city. The Irish Republic was proclaimed in Dublin, and the insurgent Tricolour suddenly broke upon startled eyes flying from the flagstaff above the General Post Office in the very heart of the Irish capital.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I first wrote this back in 2010. I have reposted it for our Irish Heritage Month – BloodSpite

Without a doubt this is my most favored Irish song. It’s not really traditional, having been written in the late 1970′s.

However, the story behind is as saddening as the lyrics.

More after the Jump

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

(I first posted this on March 10, 2007 at Techography.com it has been reprinted here for posterity and your enjoyment)

The Orangemen are a peculiar amalgam of history, anger, controversy, patriotism, and pain.

The Orangemen of Ulster March

It was founded in the same County that my own family heralds from…Armagh. It’s no surprise that we settled in Ellijay then, the Apple Capital of Georgia. The Orange Order is a Protestant fraternal organization based predominantly in Northern Ireland and Scotland with lodges throughout the Commonwealth, Canada and in the United States.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This one is a fairly new one, as it was just written in 2010. As with our other March stories we thought we’d share it once again! – BS  2013 UPDATE: Video corrected

Irish history is more than just words on paper. Like so many civilizations past we tend to put our stories, our mythos in to song.

Many have heard the songs of Ireland and found them any array of reactions from distinctive, to beautiful, to addictive. Music is not merely a form of expression for the Irish. It’s a way of reliving our past, and it is probably one of the few mediums in which blood has not been shade amongst ourselves.

The son of the god Lugh and Deichtine, Cú Chulainn was originally named Sétanta . He gained his better-known name, Cú Chulainn, as a child after he killed Culann’s fierce guard-dog in self-defense, and offered to take its place until a replacement could be reared.

This is a story oft told me as a young lad

More on Cú Chulainn after the jump

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Managed to get my hands on yet another good SR-71 story this week.

 

Enjoy!

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , ,

(I first wrote this March of 2011. I’ve reposted it this month for our Irish Heritage celebration. Enjoy! – BS)

It’s been said that we Irish are blessed with the “gift of Blarney” or gift of speech. Which is why we make such great story tellers, writers, authors, poets and actresses.

The Blarney Stone, from below

Renowned for such wit and humor as that which came from the likes of Oscar Wilde, William Butler Yeats and others. For we Irish, words and language are so very important…My grandfather once told me that if a picture is worth 1,000 words then it takes 1,000 words to paint a picture.

But this Irish gift of wit doesn’t come out of thin air, so the legends say, but rather from solid stone!

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Most folks know I like Cold War stories here on the blog.

I’ve written quite a few and they are frankly probably the most popular pieces on the site.

I’ve written a couple about the SR-71. Actually, written is rather a strong word. I have republished stories, that have been written or told by the actual men who flew these ridiculously powerful machines. Mostly because I see them floating in cyberspace but never find a good single collection of them. So I enjoy doing it.

I enjoy them, as I have a child like affection for the black metal monster that borders on obsession. My first model was a Blackbird for instance.

So when I came across this story about the SR-71, I couldn’t help but add it to the slowly growing collection here.

Enjoy.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I first published this at Techography on March 17, 2007. I reposted it here in 2010 for posterity and your reading pleasure! I imagine it will be a yearly thing- BS

    I, Patrick, a sinner, a most simple countryman, the least of all the faithful and most contemptible to many, had for father the deacon Calpurnius, son of the late Potitus, a priest, of the settlement [vicus] of Bannavem Taburniae; he had a small villa nearby where I was taken captive. I was at that time about sixteen years of age. I did not, indeed, know the true God; and I was taken into captivity in Ireland with many thousands of people, according to our deserts, for quite drawn away from God, we did not keep his precepts, nor were we obedient to our priests who used to remind us of our salvation. And the Lord brought down on us the fury of his being and scattered us among many nations, even to the ends of the earth, where I, in my smallness, am now to be found among foreigners.


St. Patrick, The Confessio


The person who was to become St. Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland, was born in Wales about AD 385. His given name was Maewyn Succat, and he almost didn’t get the job of bishop of Ireland because he lacked the required scholarship.

Far from being a saint, until he was 16, he considered himself a pagan. At that age, he was sold into slavery by a group of Irish marauders that raided his village. During his captivity, he became closer to God.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I originally wrote this in 2010 here. While I try not to add anything to my original posts when I re-post them I do try to correct spelling, punctuation, etc. I also have a bad habit of adding new pictures upon occassion. Otherwise you should find little, to no differences between the reposted material, and the original. – BloodSpite

Click for larger version

Danny Boy is one of over 100 songs composed to the same tune.

The author was an English lawyer, Frederic Edward Weatherly (1848-1929), who was also a songwriter and radio entertainer. In 1910 he wrote the words and music for an unsuccessful song he called Danny Boy. In 1912 his sister-in-law in America sent him a tune called the Londonderry Air, which he had never heard before. He immediately noticed that the melody was perfectly fitted to his Danny Boy lyrics, and published a revised version of the song in 1913. As far as I know, Weatherly never set foot in Ireland.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , ,

I wrote this in June of 2010, not long after the published apology from Britain. It was a hard time in those days, and the events and the handling of those events have only made the chasm wider over the years. This apology, I think, was a good first step in the right direction for both countries to come to a peaceable impasse. It was however, several years late in the coming. – BS

 

Bloody Sunday Monument

Broken bottles under children’s feet
Bodies strewn across the dead end streets
But I won’t heed the battle call
It puts my back up, puts my back up against the wall

Sunday, Bloody Sunday

U2, Bloody Sunday

January 30, 1972
The Bogside area of Derry, in Northern Ireland.
On one side over 15,000 civil rights protesters against British rule.
On the other, British Para’s, the cream of the British Army.

In the outcome over 27 people shot, and 14 dead.

This was the time of Troubles in Ireland.

“… it is expedient that a Tribunal be established for inquiring into a definite matter of urgent public importance, namely the events on Sunday 30th January 1972 which led to loss of life in connection with the procession in Londonderry on that day, taking account of any new information relevant to events on that day”

Resolution of the House of Commons, 30th January 1998,
and of the House of Lords, 2nd February 1998

The world has changed since those days. Do not take this apology lightly my peers. Let us not return to those days of Belfast and yon. There need be no violence on this day. The point is made. They have admitted their errs. Use it to your advantage and push, politically, diplomatically for the freedom you have fought for.

But if we’ve learned one thing in these past years, is that bloodshed never washes away bloodshed.

Be better than that.

Be Irish.

A tribute to the victims:

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,